Connect with us


57 Illegal Universities Blacklisted by NUC



The National Universities Commission has released the list of 57 illegal degree awarding institutions operating in various Universities in the country.

The Executive Secretary of the NUC, Prof. Julius Okojie, warned that certificates obtained from the institutions would not be accorded recognition for the purpose of election and participation in the National Youths Service Corps.

The commission also commenced investigation into the activities of eight other illegal institutions which it said would be prosecuted soon.

The NUC’s position was contained in its current in-house bulletin obtained by The PUNCH on Thursday in Abuja.

According to the NUC, the illegal fees charged students by operators of the illegal institutions would also be recovered.

When contacted, the spokesperson for the NUC, Mr. Ibrahim Yakassai, told The PUNCH that the commission had always been releasing names of institutions operating illegally for the attention of the public.

The NUC had a month ago said that online degrees obtained from foreign institutions would not be accepted as a means of seeking employment or any doing other legitimate business in Nigeria.

The commission had also slammed Maryam Abacha American University in Niger Republic, saying it had been inundated with enquiries from some Nigerian applicants who were offered admission into the university

The NUC, which also discredited all part-time cross-border education in Nigeria, warned citizens against patronising online universities which offered academic programmes without physical contact with their students.

The blacklisted 57 illegal universities included, University of Accountancy and Management Studies; Christians of Charity American University of Science and Technology, Nkpor, Anambra State; University of Industry, Yaba, Lagos; University of Applied Sciences and Management, Port Novo, Republic of Benin; and Blacksmith University, Awka.

Others included Volta University College, Ho, Volta Region, Ghana campuses in Nigeria; Royal University, Izhia, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State; and Atlanta University, Anyigba, Kogi State.

The list also has Sunday Adokpela University, Otada Adoka, Otukpo, Benue State; United Christian University, Macotis Campus, Imo State; United Nigeria University College, Okija, Anambra State; and Samuel Ahmadu University, Makurdi, Benue State.

UNESCO University, Ndoni, Rivers State; Saint Augustine’s University of Technology, Jos Plateau State; The International University, Missouri, USA, Kano and Lagos Study Centres; Columbus University, UK operating anywhere in Nigeria; and Tiu International University, U.K., operating anywhere in Nigeria were also included on the list.

Also on the list are Pebbles University, U.K., operating anywhere in Nigeria; London External Studies U.K., operating anywhere in Nigeria; Pilgrims University, Lobi Business School, Makurdi, Benue State; West African Christian University; Bolta University College, Aba; and others.