Connect with us


U-17 W/C: Golden Eaglets Wins Mali 2-1, to Secure 5th World Cup Title

Valentine Chinyem



Nigeria U-17 side, the Golden Eaglets have won the Chile 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup, after a 2-0 win over Mali.

After an intriguing first half, Nigerian striker, Victor Osimhen broke the deadlock in the 56th minute of the second half, to bring his total goals scored in the competition to 10.

In the 59th minute however, Funsho Gbamgboye doubled Nigeria’s lead, to secure the final and send Nigerian fans into a frenzy.

With the win, Nigeria have now won their fifth Fifa U17 World Cup. They also maintain their record of never losing to an African opposition.

NFF President Amaju Pinnick was a proud man as he joined the top dignitaries in giving out the medals at the Estadio Sausalito in Vina del Mar.

As the Eaglets Head Coach, Emmanuel Amuneke came forward, Pinnick hugged the former FC Barcelona winger and 1994 African Footballer of the Year, saying: “You are a great man. You have done a marvelous job and Nigeria is proud of you.”

However, India has been announced as the next host of the 2017 edition of the U-17 World Cup.

See Award list below.

Victor Osimhen – Golden Boot (Nigeria)

Johannes Eggestein – Silver Boot (Germany)

Kelechi Nwakali – Bronze Boot (Nigeria)

Samuel Diarra – Golden Glove (Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament) (Mali)

Captain Kelechi Nwakali – Golden Ball (Best Player of the Tournament)

Victor Osimhen (Silver Ball)

Aly Malle (Bronze Ball) (Mali)