Connect with us


Kano lawmakers pass bill for creation of four new emirates

Valentine Chinyem



Kano State House of Assembly has passed the bill for the creation of four new emirates in the state.

The new emirates are; Gaya, Bichi, Karaye and Rano.

It was tagged “Bill for the Appointment and Deposition of Emir 2019.”

The Speaker of the House, Alhaji Kabiru Alhassan Rurum, who presided over the plenary, said the House, after critical deliberation on the matter at committee of the whole agreed for the passage of the bill.

Daily Trust observed that it took the house close to four hours to finalise on the matter at its closed-door meeting.

With this development, Kano state now has five emirates namely; Kano, Gaya, Karaye, Rano and Bichi emirates.

The House is expected to transmit the bill to the state governor, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje for assent.

The implication of creating additional emirates is that the powers of the present Emir of Kano, Malam Muhammad Sanusi ll, will be reduced.

The four proposed emirates are presently being headed by district heads and if upgraded, will have emirs as heads.