Connect with us


Just In: Nine Imo lawmakers defect to APC

Valentine Chinyem



Nine lawmakers of the Imo House of Assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) from the Peoples Democratic Party, All Progressives Grand Alliance, and Action Action.

The defectors include: Authur Egwim (Ideato North) from AA to APC; Chyna Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), PDP; Chidiebere Ogbunikpa(Okigwe), PDP; Obinna Okwara(Nkwerre), AA; and Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) also from PDP to APC.

Others are Ekene Nnodimele (Orsu) from APGA to APC, Johnson Duru(Ideato South), AA; Ngozi Obiefule (Isu) AA; and Heclus Okorocha (Ohaji/Egbema) from PDP to APC.

Speaker Collins Chiji read their letters of defection at the ongoing plenary.

Meanwhile the Deputy Speaker, Mr. Okey Onyekanma, is said to have resigned.

His resignation was announced by the Speaker. The deputy speaker also resigned as the chairman of the House committee on rules and business.

More so, following the deputy speaker’s steps is the Minority Leader, Ekene Nnodimele, who also resigned his position.

Nnodimele of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) representing Orsu state constituency, also joined the ruling All Progreesives Congress (APC) after resigning his position in the House