Connect with us


John Atte Is New Customs Acting DG



Sequel to the resignation of the Deputy Comptroller of Nigerian Customs Service,Abdullahi Dikko Inde, John Atte, has taken over as the new acting Comptroller-General.

However, other senior Customs officers in the ranks of DCG and Assistants Comptroller-General (ACG) are seriously lobbying to succeed Dikko with the DCG Tariff and Trade, Adewuyi Akinade and DCG, Enforcement, Investigation and Inspection, Musa Tahir said to be enjoying the backing of some powerful politicians from the South West and North East respectively.

Adewuyi hails from Oyo State while Tahir hails from Yobe State.

The other DCGs who are adopting a wait-and-see attitude include Chukwuma Nwosu (Enugu State), Ibrahim Mera (Kebbi State) and Gabriel Aliu (Kogi State).

The NCS also has 17 Assistants Comptroller-General, any of whom could be picked by the President to succeed Dikko, according to usually reliable sources.

They are ACG Excise & Duty, Dan Ugo (Benue State); ACG Human Resource Development, Patient Iferi (Cross River); Strategic Research and Policy, Austin Warikoru (Bayelsa); ACG Tariff and Trade, Grace Adeyemo (Ondo); ACG Excise Department, Robert Alu (Nassarawa) and Coordinator, Zone B, Ade Dosunmu (Lagos State).

The other ACGs are Coordinator, Zone D, Paul Ukaigwe (Imo State); Coordinator, Zone C, Ahmed Muhammed (Jigawa State); ACG Human Resource Development, Adeshina Odumbaku (Lagos State); ACG Investigation and Inspection, Bello Liman (Sokoto State); ACG Industrial Incentives, Monday Abueh (Rivers State); Coordinator, Zone A, ACG Victor Gbemudu (Delta State); Madu Mohammed (Yobe State), who is serving on the NCS Board; ACG Information, Communication and Technology, Iya Umar (Adamawa) and ACG Finance and Revenue, Bridget Okafor (Anambra).

The out gone Comptroller general, whose resignation was approved by Muhammadu Buhari in Abuja on Monday, has officially handed over and left office.