Connect with us


Jimmy Agbaje gets PDP Lagos governorship ticket

Valentine Chinyem



Jimi Agbaje has been declared the winner of the governorship primary held by the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Lagos State.

Agbaje, who was the party’s flagbearer in the 2015 election, polled 1100 votes to defeat Mr Adedeji Doherty, who scored 742 votes.

The Chairman of the Primary Electoral Committee, Sen.Victor Oyofo, while announcing the result said that the party had demonstrated democracy in action with the successful conduct of the primary.

He added that watching the way both candidates conducted themselves, is not only commendable but an example of what democracy should be.

“They fought a good fight, the process was open, everyone expressed their desires and the votes have counted,he said.

Oyofo congratulated Agbaje as well as his counterpart, saying he had no doubt the party was on the path to win Lagos.

Agbaje, in his speech, said he accepted the victory and congratulated Doherty for giving a good fight.

“Let me first of all formally accept to be the gubernatorial candidate of our party in the 2019 election.

“So , I will of course congratulate specially Engineer Adedeji Doherty, for the keen contest we have just concluded.

“When you are in a race, you must know you either win or lose. Deji has demonstrated the capacity to accept what has happened.

“I congratulate you once again and I will be soliciting your support in the months ahead,” he said

Doherty on his part also congratulated Agbaje, saying that his victory was not for him alone, but for all members of the party, while promising to do allbhe can in making sure Agbaje clinches the state.