Connect with us


Five Nigerian Universities Host Nuclear Energy Centres of Excellence



The Chairman of the Nigerian Atomic Energy Commission (NAEC), Franklin on Friday in Abuja disclosed during an interview with pressmen that five Nigerian universities were now hosting nuclear energy centres of excellence.

Mr. Osaisai listed the five nuclear energy centres and the universities hosting them. The five nuclear energy centres are:

  • Centre for Nuclear Energy Studies (CNES), University of Port Harcourt
  • The Centre for Energy Research and Development (CERD), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife
  • Energy Research and Training (CERT), Ahmadu Bellow University (ABU), Zaria
  • Centre for Nuclear Energy Research and Training (CNERT), University of Maiduguri
  • Nuclear Energy Studies and Training (CNEST) Federal University of Technology, Owerri

He also included Nuclear Technology Centre, Sheda in the list of nuclear energy centres in the country.

Mr. Osaisai mentioned that the development of nuclear technology for the economic development of Nigeria as well as the production and disposition of atomic energy was the mandate of NAEC.

While reacting to the allegation that CERT and CERD were not sufficiently funded, he lamented that the allocation coming to NAEC was not increased despite the establishment of these centres. He said that CERT and CERD were not adequately funded by NAEC owing to insufficient fund.

Mr. Osaisai said that the NAEC has made the problem of insufficient funding known to the right authorities. According to him, IPPIS is now paying everything.