Connect with us


8 Nominees For Supreme Court Justices Confirmed By Senate

Valentine Chinyem



The Nigeria Senate has confirmed the nomination of eight Justices of the Court of Appeal for appointment as Justices of the Supreme Court.

Their confirmation is following the report of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, chaired by Senator Opeyemi Bamidele (APC, Ekiti).

President Muhammadu Buhari had, in a letter, requested the upper chamber to confirm the appointment of the Justices.

Those confirmed are: Hon. Justice M. Lawal Garba, JCA (North-West); Hon. Justice Helen M. Ogunwumiju, JCA (South-West); Hon. Justice Abdu Aboki, JCA (North-West); Hon. Justice I. M. M. Saulawa, JCA (North-West); Hon. Justice Adamu Jauro, JCA (North-East); Hon. Justice Samuel C. Oseji, JCA (South-South); Hon. Justice Tijjani Abubakar, JCA (North-East); and Hon. Justice Emmanuel A. Agim, JCA (South-South).

While presenting the committee’s repirt, Senator Bamidele, said the appointment of the nominees satisfied the requirement of Sections 230 (2) and 231 (1) and (2) and (3) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended).

According to the report, the nominees possess the requisite qualifications, integrity, leadership qualities and comportment to discharge judicial responsibilities as Honourable Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

More so, no petition against their nominations was submitted neither did record checks and other forms of investigations by security agencies, reveal any negative trace against them.

They were therefore recommended for confirmation.

On his part, the Senate President Ahmad Lawan congratulated the nominees, while also urging the federal government to ensure that the Judiciary is well funded for justices and judges to carry out their duties effectively.